Announcement Tiles

May 13, 2014 — 1 Comment

While working in an Office 365 tenant the other day I came across a site feature called Announcement Tiles. Curious, I tried to activate the feature and received an error that the feature is not supported in my version. I assumed this was probably because my tenant had not yet received the quarterly bits yet. However, after checking I found this. This feature has to be used on the My Site Host.

Next, I activated the feature via the my site host. This created a new web part and added it to my home page. The web part gives you the ability, as an admin, to create an announcement:

image

After you click on edit you are presented with this screen.

image

From here you have the typical List/Items tabs to create a new item. Then you are given a new announcement forms that looks like the new promoted links app.

image

Once your new item is created your my site host will show a tile representing the announcement.

image  image

For organizations looking to direct users to their One Drive as their start page, this can be a nice visual tool to show important announcements. The overall appearance it almost identical to promoted links.

Note: I have checked an on premises farm that is running SP1. This feature is not available so this is a cloud first feature.

Represent any data in SharePoint as a tile?

{Kam}

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Recreating tile view using Display Templates « SharePoint Phile - May 14, 2014

    […] create your own tiles you are limited to the promoted links app or the Announcement Tiles feature. I wanted the ability to use the tiles in my search results and other areas as needed. I have […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

